Author Topic: How to start  (Read 1248 times)

gipelo

• View Profile
How to start
« on: January 13, 2015, 03:23:55 AM »
Hi all !!!!
I'm new in P-roc world, I start to plan a DIY pinball developpement, But before investing in the different P-roc I would like to be sure I would be able to program it ( I have some programming skills in Php, VB etc...and Python should be ok) . So I used the windows installer to have everything installed at once. But after this installation I don't know how to start... what program  to launch...does someone can help me ?

thanks
Gilles

MOcean

• P3 Developers
  • Michael Ocean
    • View Profile
Re: How to start
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 07:46:05 AM »
Welcome! 

I guess the question is: what do you plan to build?  You can launch starter.py, but not connected to a real game that doesn't really do anything other than get you familiar with how the code looks and how to use the dmd and (keyboard based) switch simulator.

I've helped a number of people get running on The Visual Pinball-P-ROC bridge (VPROC) so that Python code can control the game logic for a machine being simulated under VP (ball, lamps, coils, switches, flippers), though this is easier if you're starting a retheme.

I had once toyed with the idea of making a guide to custom machine development in VP controlled by VPROC, but I have more pressing documentation to do (mostly around the VGADMD code).

Anyway, I recommend you look through the docs on pyprocgame over at pindev.org so you can properly set your config.yaml and try to run starter.py, so you can see the simulator in action.

We'll get you going. Just let us know what you want to do :)

- Michael

Curbfeeler

• Wizard
  • Dan - Des Moines, IA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 10:06:04 AM »