PinballControllers.com Forum

Pinball => P-ROC / P3-ROC => L1 Software (P-ROC interface library - libpinproc) => Topic started by: Chris and Nye on August 21, 2011, 04:30:28 PM

Title: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: Chris and Nye on August 21, 2011, 04:30:28 PM
Hey Gerry,

When running the libpinproc Windows installer on an AMD 64-bit machine, I'm getting the following error message:

"You have to run the 64-bit version of DPInst.exe on the machine.

Contact the vendor that provided you this package."

This is the USB driver installer, correct?  I thought I read somewhere in the wiki that I'm supposed to install the 32-bit USB driver anyway (which I've actually done independent of the installer package.)

Please screw my head on straight.

Thanks,
Chris
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: Chris and Nye on August 21, 2011, 04:32:28 PM
Okay, nevermind about the 32-bit USB driver comment -- I confused it with the comment about installing 32-bit Python.

Chris
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: Gerry Stellenberg on August 21, 2011, 05:15:14 PM
My apologies Chris.  I don't know if you're the first AMD64 user to try to install the tools (everybody else Intel 64?), or if something changed in the latest FTDI driver to keep it from running with the 32-bit dpinst.exe.  Incidentally, I recently installed Win7-64 in a VM on my AMD64 machine, and I see the exact same issue.

All the installer really does is extract the files (pinprocfw.exe, the FTDI driver, and the pypinproc self-installing python extension) and the attempts to run the FTDI driver installation.  It's the FTDI driver installation that's failing.

The good news is... the installer created all of the files you need in the installation directory.  So you have a few choices:

1) Wait for me to create an installer that works for you (might be weeks or months.:( )
2) Get the 64-bit version of dpinst.exe from Microsoft and run it in the FTDI driver directory to install the FTDI driver.
3) Install the FTDI driver yourself.  You can download it from FTDI's Driver Page. (http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm)  It sounds like you've maybe already done this anyway.

The last option is probably the easiest.

Then, if you have Python installed, you can just go into the ext/ subdirectory and install the pypinproc extension.

This assumes you want to create your game in pyprocgame.  If you want to do it in C, you'll need to install and build the libpinproc library from source.  The installer doesn't provide that anyway.

Let us know if you need more help.
- Gerry
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: fantasygoat on August 28, 2014, 09:19:39 PM
I'm having this issue on Win7 x86 running as a VM.  Unfortunately I can't seem to install the drivers from FTDI as there doesn't appear to be such a device on my VM to install to, and the download from the website doesn't include an installation program to do it for me.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: benboogaard on January 06, 2015, 10:52:03 AM
Some problem over here. Will try to install is manualy.

Win 7 64 Bit AMD
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: Gerry Stellenberg on January 06, 2015, 11:28:22 AM
I'm having this issue on Win7 x86 running as a VM.  Unfortunately I can't seem to install the drivers from FTDI as there doesn't appear to be such a device on my VM to install to, and the download from the website doesn't include an installation program to do it for me.

Sorry for just seeing this now.  Judging by your other posts, I think you've figured this out, but just to close the loop:

One of the download options on the FTDI D2XX download page is for a "setup executable".  Download and run that, and it should install the FTDI driver.

Some problem over here. Will try to install is manually.

OK, please let us know if the manual FTDI driver install doesn't resolve your issues.  In fact, if *anybody* can't get the tools installed because of FTDI issues, please post here.  I've received one email report from a user who's having trouble with the FTDI driver relative to the single-click installer, and I'm still trying to get more information to help figure out what's going on.

Thanks.
- Gerry
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: briancox on May 17, 2015, 11:12:49 PM
Hi guys,

I need to get my P-ROC up and running on a Surface Pro 3 with Windows 10, and I'm also running into this problem, among other things...

Has anyone figured this out yet???

Has anyone successfully run the installer on Windows 10? Any special instructions?

Thanks!

Brian Cox
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: Paikuhan76 on May 17, 2015, 11:49:23 PM
" Install the FTDI driver yourself.  You can download it from FTDI's Driver Page.  It sounds like you've maybe already done this anyway."

Did this and it said that the requested action requires elevation and the installation fails.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: briancox on May 18, 2015, 02:18:45 AM
Yeah, I got the exact same message...

Does anyone have a work-around for this? I've got a game going to the NW Pinball Show in about two weeks, and need to get this up and running,

Thanks!

Brian Cox
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on May 18, 2015, 06:00:37 AM

Did you try a right click on the FTDI 64bit driver installer so you can select "run as administrator" ?

- Michael

quote author=Paikuhan76 link=topic=384.msg14198#msg14198 date=1431920963]
" Install the FTDI driver yourself.  You can download it from FTDI's Driver Page.  It sounds like you've maybe already done this anyway."

Did this and it said that the requested action requires elevation and the installation fails.
[/quote]
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: pinbot on May 18, 2015, 09:23:45 PM
I downloaded it, and ran it as admin, and there were no problems installing it.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on May 18, 2015, 10:55:49 PM
Why's the specific error you are seeing?

When you run Python and try to import pinproc are you getting the DLL error?
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: briancox on May 21, 2015, 01:59:34 AM
@pinbot - When you say you downloaded "it", exactly what file are you talking about? A quick internet search, including the FTDI driver page, doesn't yield a specific place to download a 64-bit version of the file DPInst.exe. Sounds like you may be able to get it as part of a package if you're a developer and install the Windows Driver Kit (WDK).

The error you get with the one-click installer is that a 64-bit version of this file is required, and looks the installer just quits at that point.

Yes, you probably can download a different 64-bit driver from the FTDI page, but doesn't seem to be called "DPInst.exe".

What is really needed is a work-around for the one-click installer that will install correctly on a 64-bit machine.

BC
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on July 29, 2015, 04:23:39 PM

Hi guys,

I need to get my P-ROC up and running on a Surface Pro 3 with Windows 10, and I'm also running into this problem, among other things...

Has anyone figured this out yet???

Has anyone successfully run the installer on Windows 10? Any special instructions?

Thanks!

Brian Cox


I'm pretty sure you've moved on to MPF, however I've written a new one click installer and it worked for me on Windows 10 when I tested it today.

http://www.pinballcontrollers.com/forum/index.php?topic=626.msg14604#msg14604
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 01, 2015, 06:36:47 AM
Tried installing but i already have the master branches. Need the DEV install for P3-ROC. Didn't work so i just selected to install the libpinproc etc and not the drivers or Python (as already have them). it got further but gave the attached error.
 Do i need to uninstall everything and do a clean install?

Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 01, 2015, 08:25:10 AM

Can you clarify exactly which option you had checked off when this error was generated?  Looks like it's not coping the files it needs in order to patch your pypinproc build with this particular combination of options checked off.

Also: you already have master installed I'm not sure how this plays out. I haven't tried that. I'd say try to install everything but Python and Pygame. Which is what you tried?  What was the error you got that time?

Also this prior install of master --is this with Python 2.6 or 2.7 (for MPF). This installer is for Python 2.6.


Tried installing but i already have the master branches. Need the DEV install for P3-ROC. Didn't work so i just selected to install the libpinproc etc and not the drivers or Python (as already have them). it got further but gave the attached error.
 Do i need to uninstall everything and do a clean install?
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 01, 2015, 08:57:11 AM
libpinproc & pre-requisites checked

FTDI driver unchecked (already installed)
PyPinroc & pre-requisites checked
       python 2.6 unchecked (already installed)
PyprocGame unchecked

gives the above. with everything checked i get as below. I then continue and get a pypinproc failed at the end. As I say, worth uninstalling everything and starting from scratch?
Title: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 01, 2015, 09:29:08 AM
libpinproc & pre-requisites checked

FTDI driver unchecked (already installed)
PyPinroc & pre-requisites checked
       python 2.6 unchecked (already installed)
PyprocGame unchecked

gives the above. with everything checked i get as below. I then continue and get a pypinproc failed at the end. As I say, worth uninstalling everything and starting from scratch?

Let me check for bugs in the installer code. That error seems to imply certain files are not getting copied for some reason.

You could also try with everything checked. Edit: apologies. Now I see that's what the other error was. I have never seen that error before when trying to instal Python over an existing install.

You could try uninstalling Python then running again. Two sanity check questions:
1. You have sufficient space free on your c drive right?
2. When you run the installer, it asks for elevated privilege?

Thanks!
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 01, 2015, 09:38:43 AM
(I edited my response above. Sorry for the lack of reading comprehension the first time through!)
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 01, 2015, 11:02:22 AM
libpinproc & pre-requisites checked

FTDI driver unchecked (already installed)
PyPinroc & pre-requisites checked
       python 2.6 unchecked (already installed)
PyprocGame unchecked

gives the above. with everything checked i get as below. I then continue and get a pypinproc failed at the end. As I say, worth uninstalling everything and starting from scratch?

Let me check for bugs in the installer code. That error seems to imply certain files are not getting copied for some reason.

You could also try with everything checked. Edit: apologies. Now I see that's what the other error was. I have never seen that error before when trying to instal Python over an existing install.

You could try uninstalling Python then running again. Two sanity check questions:
1. You have sufficient space free on your c drive right?
2. When you run the installer, it asks for elevated privilege?

Thanks!

plenty of space. Running as admin gives the above errors too.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 01, 2015, 02:56:26 PM
I have just posted an updated version (v1.01) that fixes the following issues:
* Installing PyPinProc without Python 2.6 will no longer generate those "file not found" errors (as long as Python 2.6 is the version installed!)
* No longer report a return code of 255 from the python installer as 'error' since it seems OK in my tests...
* Fixes a bug in build libpinproc that might cause it to not see the pinproc library (as built by the the libpinproc build step)

The download link has not changed. 

Hopefully this will be the last version before I add Visual Pinball and PyOSC/switch-client support.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 02, 2015, 06:12:22 AM
err, no with the new version. I have python 2.66, FTDI but it's looking for a folder P-ROC\scripts. the only script folder i can see is P-ROC\PIL\scripts?
This is with everything checked or just the changes checked as before.

I appreciate your help, wouldn't it have just been easier to merge the -dev into the master folder and keep using the original installer??!!!
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 02, 2015, 07:20:45 AM
I am unsure what's causing the installer's script files to not be copied into c:\p-roc\scripts and it's very weird that this has been working for others but not for you. Let's try to figure out why.  What version of windows are you running and is it 32 or 64 bit? 

As for just merging dev into master, that was our first thought, however it doesn't fix the DPInst  64 and cc1/zlib errors that had developed when running the old installer on a 64 bit machine.

Let's try to track this down further and in the worst case I can just email you the scripts. I'd love to figure out why this isn't working for you though, in case if happens to someone else, too. I'm off to ask google to see if there's any precedent for this.

- Michael
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 02, 2015, 07:44:55 AM
32bit win7 python 2.6.6 p3-roc mpf
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 02, 2015, 07:51:25 AM

32bit win7 python 2.6.6 p3-roc mpf

I haven't installed on win7 32 yet myself but I was told it was working by someone who tested it. I'll make a win7/32 Virtual Machine asap for testing.

I was messaging with Brian on Friday night and he said that MPF requires 2.7 to be able to use a prebuilt pygame 1.9.2 binary, so figuring out how MPF users can make use of this is on the list.

In the meanwhile I'll send you a PM with something else to try.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 02, 2015, 08:44:48 AM
with the folders added...

as attached then it finishes with the same code 2 error.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 02, 2015, 08:58:46 AM
The logging in the installer window is showing that it's skipping copying any of the files and yet there's clearly something wrong. I'll try to figure out why that's happening
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 02, 2015, 12:54:09 PM
Please try this and report back.  Thanks:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/254844/proc-environment-installer/proc_env_installer_v1.0.2.exe
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 02, 2015, 02:47:33 PM
the same. It's something in mingw32 and pypinproc i think.

i tried a full install and also just installing libpinproc and pypinproc.

Actually think it's fixed P3-ROC anyway as i think it's the dev version of libpinproc needed. it's reporting the switches correctly now.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: MOcean on August 02, 2015, 02:53:48 PM
Alright, well I'm glad it's fixed your switch issue. I'll get a win7/32 VM going eventually and see if I can reproduce this.
Title: Re: 64-bit DPInst.exe Message
Post by: epotech on August 02, 2015, 03:03:37 PM
Thanks for everything you've done Michael, it's hugely appreciated.